Future Considerations

Here’s a quick list of ideas I may incorporate later in life.

  1. Add support for my rear suspension. My best guess at the weight I’ve added to the truck is 450-500lb. That means the truck is now 3/4-ton. As you may notice, the rear suspension is loaded down pretty well. Two people weigh between 300-400 lb and you can bet the truck sits low in that case.

I met a nice WI guy out in Steamboat Springs who had a similar structure (dubbed “Morning Wood”). He added a leaf spring in his rear suspension to keep it from sagging too much. I’m also jealous of his antler door-pulls.

img_2958

#ConifertheTruck meets “Morning Wood” on a fine November day in Steamboat Springs, CO.

  1. Find a way to duct propane fumes out of the camper. I’ve briefly thought about this, but when cooking inside it’s necessary to crack windows to cross-ventilate. The place heats up quick too! Since electrical heating isn’t feasible, I could potentially heat the place in a safe manner if I routed small-diameter aluminum ducting out a window, or even through a custom made hole. Brainstorming still in session.
  1. I want to convert a Sprinter Van, but I’m on the fence with that idea. I do plan to build my own tiny home at a point in time, I just see it as years out. Whether it will be mounted on wheels or have a permanent foundation is still up in the air.
  1. Quit engineering and build things out of wood as a job. Not as lucrative.. but definitely more fun. And there’s a large market for these projects. Tiny homes are on the rise because Millennials don’t care as much for mortgages.

3 thoughts on “Future Considerations

  1. I LOVE what you have created here. Wow! I saw your add in that Jackson Hole online garage sale? Who cares, I can never remember it’s proper name. I got knocked pretty hard on the noggin many moons ago in the USCG, among many other injuries. But what you have created here is fantastic!

    I too love working with wood and used to build houses as well as I went to North Bennett St School Of Design in Boston, (where I am from) for fine woodworking and furniture making but mostly O am self taught since the time I could see the top of my Dad’s table qhich, of course, I was forbidden to touch. I didn’t care. Dad’s work, right? Haha!

    Sadly, as life often dictates, these days, survival is key and too damn costly so I had to support myself via means of the more conventional route. Yawn. Sad how damn expensive life has become for the average folk. Class wise, I mean. Clearly, there is nothing average about you and dare I say, myself.

    Anyway, what you have built here is inspiring. I immediately began picturing myself and my four tiny Rat Terriers out on the open road stopping where we may. Whatever looks interesting…

    I am waiting on some VA disability back pay if this Grand-prize is still available when that comes through, you WILL be hearing from me. I just LOVE it. Well done. You have the kind of talent I truly appreciate. Best in all your endeavors

    Alice H Tully

    I

    Like

  2. Hi. It’s Fred Wolf from Summit County Colorado wondering if you’re still selling your Cedar Palace. If so please call me. Thx

    858-583-1243

    Like

Leave a comment